Wilkes-Barre, Hazleton, Scranton & Surrounding CountiesAvailable 24/7, Nights, Weekends & Holidays | Affordable Payment Plans | Free Consultations
Firm Logo

Pennsylvania DUI Lawyer

Pennsylvania DUI LawyerPennsylvania DUI Lawyer

DUI Defense Attorney in Kingston, PA, Helps Clients Face Drunk Driving Charges in Luzerne County, Lackawanna County, Columbia County, and Throughout Northeastern Pennsylvania

If you’ve been pulled over after consuming alcohol or drugs, you may worry about the consequences that a DUI conviction may have on your reputation and future. Depending on the facts and circumstances of your case, you may have legal options or defenses to a DUI charge. Let a Pennsylvania DUI lawyer from Muckler Law, LLC, fight to secure the best possible outcome to your case. Since 2009, Attorney Matthew Muckler has fought to protect the rights and interests of clients in Luzerne and Lackawanna County and across Northeastern Pennsylvania. Because we understand the effects of a DUI conviction, you can rest assured we will work tirelessly to prepare and pursue an aggressive defense on your behalf. As a former prosecutor, Matthew Muckler knows how district attorneys build cases and can use his insights to develop a tailored legal strategy.

After you’ve been arrested and charged with DUI, turn to a seasoned DUI defense attorney in Kingston, PA, to protect your rights and future. Contact Muckler Law, LLC, for a free case evaluation to learn how our firm can help you obtain a favorable resolution to your DUI charges.

Pennsylvania’s DUI Laws

Pennsylvania’s DUI laws make it illegal for an individual to operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol such that the driver has a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or more or is otherwise incapable of operating a vehicle safely. The statute also makes it illegal to drive when a person has any detectable amount of a Schedule I controlled substance, any amount of a Schedule II or III substance not legally prescribed to the person, or is otherwise under the influence of drugs to the point they cannot safely operate their vehicle.

The DUI law has three categories of alcohol intoxication:

  • General impairment: Having a blood alcohol content of at least 0.08 percent but less than 0.10 percent within two hours of having driven a vehicle, or being under the influence of alcohol to the extent that the driver cannot safely operate a vehicle.
  • High rate of alcohol: Having a blood alcohol content of at least 0.10 percent but less than 0.16 percent.
  • Highest rate of alcohol: Having a blood alcohol content of 0.16 percent or higher.

In addition, the law makes it illegal to drive a commercial vehicle, other than a school vehicle, with a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher, or to drive a school bus/vehicle with a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher.

Logo IconLogo Icon

570-908-4069

Get Help Today. Tell Us Your Story

Penalties for a DUI Conviction

Penalties for DUI convictions depend on the degree of the driver’s intoxication. Penalties for general impairment include:

  • First offense: Six months’ probation, fine of $300, requirement to attend an approved alcohol highway safety school, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment
  • Second offense: Minimum five days of incarceration, a fine of $300 to $2,500, requirement to attend an approved alcohol highway safety school, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment
  • Third and subsequent offense: Minimum ten days of incarceration, a fine of $500 to $5,000, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment

Penalties for having a high rate of alcohol, driving a commercial vehicle while intoxicated, or causing an accident resulting in serious injury or death include:

  • First offense: Minimum 48 consecutive hours of incarceration, a fine of $500 to $5,000, requirement to attend an approved alcohol highway safety school, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment
  • Second offense: Minimum 30 days of incarceration, a fine of $750 to $5,000, requirement to attend an approved alcohol highway safety school, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment
  • Third offense: Minimum 90 days of incarceration, a fine of $1,500 to $10,000, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment
  • Fourth and subsequent offense: Minimum one year of incarceration, a fine of $1,500 to $10,000, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment

Penalties for having the highest rate of alcohol or driving under the influence of controlled substances include:

  • First offense: Minimum 72 consecutive hours of incarceration, a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, requirement to attend an approved alcohol highway safety school, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment
  • Second offense: Minimum 90 days of incarceration, minimum fine of $1,500, requirement to attend an approved alcohol highway safety school, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment
  • Third and subsequent offense: Minimum one year of incarceration, minimum five of $2,500, and undergo drug/alcohol assessment

Don’t let a single mistake result in long-term consequences for your freedom and future. Contact Muckler Law, LLC, today for a free, no-obligation consultation with an experienced Pennsylvania DUI lawyer to discuss your options for resolving your drunk driving charges.

Frequently Asked Questions about DUI in Pennsylvania

Logo IconLogo Icon
Quote IconQuote Icon
Great lawyer handled my case in a blink of an eye

“Attorney Muckler handled my hearing and I was very happy with the outcome. He is very easy to talk to and a great guy. I look forward to working with him in the future.”

Muckler LogoMuckler Logo
570-908-4069Map + Directions© 2024 Muckler Law, LLC. All Rights Reserved.Site Map.Disclaimer.